Frontier community college

Frontier is one of four educational institutions that comprise Illinois Eastern Community Colleges (IECC.


The FCC campus is spread across 55 acres with ten buildings, and serves the counties of Clay, Edwards, Jasper, Lawrence and Wayne with off-campus classes.

Fairfield Community high school

The Fairfield Community High School district encompasses an area of 243 square miles of Wayne County.


Approximately 50% of the students that attend FCHS live in rural areas, rather than within the city limits of Fairfield.

Four elementary institutions send their eighth grade graduates to the High School: Center Street Elementary, Jasper Community Consolidated School, New Hope School, and Geff Community Consolidated School.

Fairfield provides education from early childhood to higher education.  Fairfield has four licensed daycare centers, including The Kiddie Kollege of Fairfield, which is a private NAEYC Accredited Early Childhood Education facility located right next to the community college. 


For K-8 education, Fairfield provides the choice of city or rural settings, allowing for the choice of class size for its citizens, leading into Fairfield Community High School. 


Lastly, Fairfield is home to Frontier Community College, which belongs to the Illinois Eastern Community College System.  In 2018, Frontier was rated the #15 trade school in the nation by Forbes Magazine, while providing the lowest cost of attendance in the state of Illinois.  Frontier also has the ability to tailor workforce development and training opportunities for local businesses to meet their employment needs.


Fairfield Public School District #112 is comprised of North Side Grade School, which serves Pre-K through 3rd grade students, and Center Street Grade School, which serves 4th - 8th grade students.