Wayne County

The Wayne County Courthouse is the central location for the day-to-day business of our County Government. It is located at 300 W. Main in Fairfield, Illinois. Court House office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Gary Sloan is the current County Board Chairman. The County Board meets at 7 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month in the Court House basement.


Wayne County was organized by an act of the Illinois Legislature on March 25, 1819. It included the present territory of the County plus about one-half of Clay County. It was reduced to its present size by an Act on December 23, 1895. The Commissioners appointed by the Act of March 26, 1819, selected the present site for the City of Fairfield as a County Seat of the new County. John and Felix Barnhill donated a tract of 21 acres which comprised the Original Town of Fairfield.

Isaac Harris, a native of Kentucky was the first white settler. He came in 1814, but left to join the War of 1812, which was then being fought. He returned in 1815. He erected the first house in the County at the edge of the Little Wabash bottoms about nine miles southeast of Fairfield.

The first Circuit Court was held by a Justice of the Supreme Court in a house about eight miles south and a little east of Fairfield. The Grand Jury returned several indictments, chiefly for assault and battery.

Part of the Court House burned on November 17, 1886, destroying many of the records in the Recorder's Office. The present Court House was erected in 1891. A new addition was added to the south side of the Court House in 1955, and on the north side in 1957.

Today Wayne County covers 715 square miles. The latitude at the Courthouse is 38-21-50 and the longitude is 88-21-35. The elevation is 450 feet above sea level.

Wayne County Board

Wayne County is divided into seven districts with two County Board members from each district. A table listing the townships included in each district can be found at the end of this section.  Individual members grouped by the districts they represent are as follow:


District Name Address Phone Term Expires
#1 Gary Sloan 481 County Highway 18
Xenia 62899
835-2256 2014


Jerry Dohoho

1815 CR 2675 E

Xenia 62899

835-4460 2016
#2 Gordon Endsley 1234 CR 2675 E
MT. Erie  62446
854-2518 2016
Robert Pearce 1521 CR 1900 N
Cisne 62863
673-2876 2014
#3 Shirley McDavid 1307 County Highway 7
Fairfield 62837
842-7510 2014


Larry " Eddie" Barbre 1477 CR 900 N
Fairfield 62837
842-4014 2016
#4 Steve Ehrhart P.O. Box 274
Wayne City 62895



Ben Gardner

788 Co Rd 050

Wayne City, IL 62895

599-7113 2014
#5 Amy Pollard 1877 Co Rd 470N
Fairfield, IL 62837
919-0095 2016
Ray Smothers 1826 Co Rd 620N
Fairfield, IL 62837
842-3123 2014
#6 Royce Carter 2193 Co Rd 825N
Fairfield, IL 62837
599-0531 2014
Vern Hutson, Sr. 911 SW Sixth St.
Fairfield, IL 62837
842-5538 2016
#7 Deborah Bradham 205 S. King St
Golden Gate 62843
599-5166 2016
Brent Maquire 704 George Street
Fairfield, IL 62837
599-3132 2014


#1 Berry Garden Hill Keith Ordhard


Indian Prairie

Hickory Hill

#2 MT. Erie Ridge Bedford Elm River
Massilon Ziff    
#3 Lamard 1 Lamarad 2 Jasper 1 Jasper 2
#4 Arrington Four Mile Orel  
#5 Big Mound 1 Big Mound 2 Barnhill  
#6 Grover Rider    
#7 Fairfield  1 Fairfield 2 Merriam Golden Gate

Wayne County Elected Officers
Wayne County Clerk/Recorder:

Liz Ann Woodrow
Wayne County Courthouse
301 E. Main St. Suite 203
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-5182
FAX: 618/842-6427
EMAIL: countyclerk@waynecountygovil.com

Wayne County Circuit Clerk:
Sharon L. Gualdoni
Wayne County Courthouse
301 E. Main St. Suite 204
P. O. Box 96
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-7684
FAX: 618/842-2556
EMAIL: ciruitclerk@waynecountygovil.com

Wayne County Treasurer/ Collector:

Donna Vaughan
Wayne County Courthouse
301 E. Main St. Suite 201
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-5087
FAX: 618/842-2178
EMAIL: countytreasurer@waynecountygovil.com

Wayne County Sheriff:


Mike Everett
305 E. Court St.
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-6631
FAX: 618/842-4916
EMAIL: sheriffeverett@gmail.com

Chief County Assessment Officer:
Shirley K. Walters
Wayne County Courthouse
P. O. Box 384
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-2582
FAX: 618/847-5713
EMAIL: countyassessment@waynecountygovil.com

Regional Superintendent of Schools:
Lawrence D. Fillingim
Wayne County Courthouse P. O. Box 277
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/847-3151
FAX: 618/842-3158
EMAIL: fillingim@roe20.k12.il.us
EMAIL: (M. Heifner, secretary) mheifner@roe20.k12.il.us

Wayne County Coroner:
Jimmy I. Taylor
106 E. Center St.
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-3788
FAX: 618/842-4211
EMAIL: coroner@fairfieldwireless.net

Wayne County States Attorney:

David Williams
Wayne County Courthouse
P. O. Box 641
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-3433
FAX: 618/847-4618

EMAIL: statesattorney@waynecountygovil.com

Wayne County Coordinator of Emergency Management Agency:

Jeff Jake
505 SW 10th Street
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-3884
FAX: 618/842-3181
EMAIL: waynecoema@fairfieldwireless.net

911 Coordinator:

Tom Windland

Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/847-8169
FAX: 618/847-4202
EMAIL: waynecounty.e911@live.com

Highway Department

Wayne County Engineer:
Dennis Seidel
1309 East Main Street
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/847-7343
FAX: 618/842-2986
EMAIL: wchiway@newwavecomm.net

Health Department

Clark Griffith
405 N. Basin Road
P. O. Box 645
Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618/842-5166
FAX: 618/842-3305
EMAIL: pwayne@idphnet.com

Probation Office

Chief Managing Officer, Third Probation District:

Darla Fitzjerrells
Wayne County Courthouse
Phone: 618/842-7839
FAX: 618/842-6015

EMAIL:  probation@waynecountygovil.com


Flo Simpson • 121 East Main Street • Fairfield, IL 62837
Phone: 618.842.4802 • Fax: 618.842.4802 • adc@fairfieldwireless.netwww.fairfield-il.com